Skip to content

Newhouse NYC Students are Thankful for…NYC

hannah

Senior PR major and Hearst intern Hannah Koennecke reflects on her semester as a Newhouse NYC student. 

It’s the holiday season which for most of us means going back home to see our parents, eating a lot of food you don’t have to buy with your own money, and hanging out with people who knew you when you had braces and and a roller backpack.

To say I was excited to get home for Thanksgiving is a bit of an understatement. I was counting hours–minutes even–and I didn’t sleep for the two nights before. But as I watched Manhattan disappear from the windows of the Maple Leaf Express train, I was suddenly overcome by how sad I am going to be to have to leave. December 4th will mark the eighth month I have been allowed to call myself a New Yorker and mean it (I interned here last summer as well).  I have a sixth sense of how much time it will take me to get to Brooklyn on the subway from anywhere in Manhattan. I get irrationally upset by large groups of tourists, and I still haven’t accepted Taylor Swift’s NYC Tourism ambassador appointment (she was born in Pennsylvania)!

Do you ever have the feeling you are seeing a part of your future? I’m a senior at the best university in the world, and while I am eagerly anticipating my final semester up on the Hill, leaving New York is going to be a tough one for me. I am an addicted urbanite: I love small dogs in sweaters, brunching, wearing all black all the time, and having deep conversations with cab drivers late at night. I love how everyone has a sense of unflinching purpose and pride about the way they present themselves and the city they live in.

That’s the thing about going home for the holidays; you always miss things when you’re not around them. I was so excited to go home but now that I am home, I can’t wait to be back in the city! There is nothing like New York to keep me focused and enthusiastic. Which is ironic because no one in New York smiles or sleeps enough, but really it’s true–New York is a catalyst for everything I want and expect to achieve in life. And I think it goes without saying that could all be different if it wasn’t for Newhouse in NYC.

Obviously I can’t know my future; I don’t know if I will find my dream job, or where I will be living a few years from now, or if my hair will ever truly revert to it’s natural color after being purple. But I do sincerely believe all things in my future lead me back to New York. To be clichéd, New York isn’t a city, it’s a lifestyle, one that I have fully embraced. So yes, I will be stuffing my face with turkey and mashed potatoes today. And after that my thoughts will be right back in New York, scheming to find a way to stay forever.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

