Skip to content

The 10 Best Parts of NYC This Semester

By Leah Fagen, Newhouse NYC student and junior PR major

It’s hard to believe that the semester has come to a close. It feels like just yesterday we were moving into EHS and getting settled on the Upper East Side, many of us experiencing the sights and sounds of New York City for the first time as residents rather than tourists. It seems like just yesterday we heard about some of the best places to eat at the “Dine Like A New Yorker” panel at orientation and nervously mapped out our morning commutes. As we turn in our finals and wrap up our internships, the Newhouse NYC Fall 2015 students took a few minutes to reflect on some of our favorite moments of the semester. Here are 10 highlights that we’ll always remember:

kayak
Rosalind Cardone, Advertising senior and Catch 24 intern: “While I loved the field trips, my internship, and classes, one highlight from the semester was when a bunch of us went kayaking on the Hudson. It was at the beginning of the semester, so it gave us the chance to get to know each other and get out nature fix.”

Eric King, Magazine junior and New York Magazine intern: “My highlight from this semester was definitely getting do original reporting for New York Magazine. Through my internship, I’ve also gotten to see some of my personal TV heroes, including Shonda Rhimes and Ryan Murphy.

dana kelly michael
Dana Froome, PR senior and Hearst PR intern: “The highlight of my semester was being able to hang out with the editor-in-chief of Seventeen Magazine, Michelle Tan, at ‘LIVE with Kelly and Michael’ and see the holiday segment I was working on come together.”

Natasha del Amo, PR junior and Clinton Foundation intern: “I’ve been afforded a lot of experiences while here in NYC that I would not have back at Syracuse, from talking to award winning journalists, to washing my hands next to Jessica Biel, I have loved it all. If I had to choose an experience that had the biggest impact on me, it would be the moment I officially met President Clinton. He had often been around the office, but getting the opportunity to hear him talk about his passions for the world and shake his hand is a moment I’ll never forget.”

Liesel Rickert, PR senior and Quinn PR intern: “I loved being so close to the heart of Broadway. I used to attend shows all the time in high school, but proximity to good theaters in Syracuse made it hard to continue in college. My highlight of the semester was being able to attend two shows: the musical An American in Paris, which I highly recommend and is now in my list of top five musicals, and Thérèse Raquin, an intense play featuring Keira Knightly who is one of my favorite childhood actresses.”

Stanley and Brad
Stanley Kaminsky, Television, Radio & Film senior and Glassnote Records intern: “When I first discovered Oberhofer‘s music in high school, I immediately became hooked. Did I know that, a few years down the road, I’d be working for the record label to which he is signed and getting access to his amazing show in Williamsburg? Definitely not. That’s part of the reason why the Oberhofer show is my favorite memory from this semester; it was surreal.”

ramen.JPG
Summer Zhou, PR senior and Allegravita intern: “I will miss the food in NYC. Ramen is my favorite. I’ve tried a lot of different ramen in NYC. Blue Monkey probably won’t satisfy my stomach anymore.”

Isaiah Mendez, Television, Radio & Film senior and Jingle Punks Music intern: “The highlight of this semester was getting the chance to make new friends with the people in this program, while having the opportunity to go to school and work in the comfort my hometown.”

 

IMG_5706
Jackie Pereira, PR junior and Polished Pig Media intern: “My favorite part of the semester was going to Google because it gave me a feel for the environment I want when I’m applying for jobs next year. The company encourages creativity, and it was interesting to see how they handle their workloads, while balancing work with taking time for themselves.”

zoe-dvf
Zoe Malliaros, Advertising junior and Diane von Furstenberg intern: “Assisting with operations prior to and during the Diane von Furstenberg Spring Summer 2016 runway show was a dream come true. It was incredible to aid in essential parts to the show like VIP fittings, pulls, walk-ins, gifting and press. Seeing firsthand how Fortuna x DVF transformed from idea to execution is one of the most valuable working experiences I have to date, and it defined a lot of what I want to accomplish moving forward.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

