Skip to content

The 5 Best Dessert Spots in NYC

By Summer Zhou, Senior Newhouse NYC student and PR major 

I love desserts. They make me happy, so when I feel down, I go straight to a dessert bar! When I lived in NYC this semester, I went to many because sweets help me de-stress. Here are my top five dessert spots in NYC that will not disappoint you.

Spot Dessert Bar
Spot has three shops, two on St. Mark’s Place and one in Koreatown. It’s a great choice after you grab Japanese or Korean food because the desserts balance those dishes well. Although the sauces on their dishes are sweet, they use different flavors of ice cream like green tea and toasted rice to balance the sweetness.  They also have seasonal or limited edition desserts.
spot dessert

Lady M Confections
If you don’t try Lady M’s cake, you can’t say you have been to NYC! Their crepe cakes are their signature dish, but I especially love the strawberry shortcake. If you are a strawberry fan, you can’t miss this one.
lady m

il Laboratorio Del Gelato
I consider this the best gelato place in NYC, not only because it was four minutes away from my apartment, but also because it tastes sooooooo good! Their unique flavors change daily. My favorites are red bean, black sesame and banana (it feels like you are eating a whole banana)!
Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 2.31.49 PM

Cha – An
This Japanese tea house serves dessert and also homemade Japanese dishes. If you like lighter desserts, it’s the perfect choice with great Japanese and Chinese tea. Note: It is on the second floor, so you have to pay attention, or you will miss the sign!
cha-an

Momofuku Milk Bar
Momofuku is a special memory because Cheryl took us there during Newhouse NYC orientation. It has a special taste, unlike any other ice cream because it’s a combination of salty and sweet. I know it sounds weird, but try it once, and you’ll be hooked. There is always a line going outside the store, but it’s worth the wait.
Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 2.30.53 PM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

