Skip to content

Our Favorite Weekend Adventures This Spring

By Caroline Cakebread, Junior Newhouse NYC student and MAG major

When I asked the Spring Newhouse NYC class what their favorite things to do on the weekend is, they all gaped at me. There is so much to do in NYC on any given day, picking a favorite is not an easy task. However, after much rumination, these five students narrowed it down to some of their top things to do on an a free day in NYC.

Chelsea Brown-Ferguson, PR senior:
“I LOVE weekend brunch with my friends! There are so many great bottomless brunch spots in NYC to explore. I like to try a different spot in a different neighborhood every time we go. Brunch is definitely a must-do weekend move, especially now that the weather is heating up!” 

brunch

Kevin Gendron, ADV junior:

“There are so many bizarre but delicious food spots to check out, and I try to hit a different one every weekend. Last Friday, I went down to the Lower East Side to try a ramen burger. It was delicious, and I think I could’ve eaten ten of them.”

Kevin Ramen

Isabel Scannel, ADV junior:
“I love living right next to Central Park. From the Boathouse to the Belvedere Castle, there are just so many things to see, and I love wandering through on a Saturday or Sunday. With the weather getting nicer, all of the trees and flowers are blooming and it’s so beautiful. I’ve probably taken a hundred pictures by now.”Central park

Sydney Wagner, PR junior:
“For me, the perfect weekend day starts with a leisurely brunch and then trip to one of NYC’s endless museum options.” I love the MET! I’ve been more than a few times and still don’t think I’ve seen everything–it’s so massive.” The Cooper Hewitt design museum is also a must see–even if you’re not a design person.

Lauren ferry

Lauren Anderson, BDJ junior:
“I try to do something new whenever I get the chance. A few of my favorites have been seeing a Broadway show, taking the ferry to Staten Island and trying out new restaurants. I intern on the weekends, so on my days off there are never lines or crowds anywhere–it’s the best!”

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

